RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looking for someone good with Java that wants to help with a project

Bittiez

Sorceror
I'm working on a program to automatically update files for uo, for example:
Server says its version is 2, client says its version is 1
client downloads files from server and replaces the ones in their uo directory with them

This is going to be for hues and map files so players won't need to download them on their own, just run this program and it will be kept up to date.

I have all of this done, it works very well, however I'm looking for someone to help me make it more "user friendly".

I'm fairly new to Java, and my problem is the script runs through the entire script before updating the gui, I need to find someone who is good enough and willing to make this so the gui is updating while the program is checking with the server and downloading files(Big files right now just make the program appear to be frozen until the download is done, then it updates the gui)

So if your interested in this let me know, I don't really want to release the source code to the public quite yet, I want to get a good looking and running version first, so shoot me a pm or reply here and we will go from there

This is a screenshot of the program so far:
Untitled.png

Bittiez

Sorceror
Update:

I resolved the single thread issue, it now seems to run very smoothly, I'm not searching for input on what features people would like to see if they were to use this?

Capabilities:
Updating any files and file types directly to the UO directory

Possible future features:
Let uses choose what files type to allow to download(for user security).

Current features: