RunUO Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Changing movement rules to allow flying

Dreadcor

Wanderer
Changing movement rules to allow flying

I am interested in making changes that would allow flying in certain situations, such as after polymorphing into a creature that can fly. I am a C++/C# programmer, but I have just begun to dig trough the runuo code. I imagine that one of the changes I will need to make is to modify the code that checks if a mobile can move over certain types of terain or accross certain elevation changes, etc. I have looked in Movement.cs and see a function call on m_Impl.CheckMovement(m, d, out newZ). Am I correct in assuming that within this function call is where I will find the relevant code? And where can I find the definition of IMovementImpl::CheckMovement(Mobile m, Direction d, out int newZ)?

As I mentioned, I have just begun digging through the runuo source, so please forgive me if I am missing something obvious. Thanks.

_Epila_

Sorceror
well, to begin to modify the core to allow players to fly, first you have to verify if the client allow this flying movement, not only the core

as the addition of SA, maybe the clients that support SA also support flying, but i dont know how it work

a good way, but not too easy, to start verifying if is possible to fly, is when you try walk(in a path that you cant), check if the client send valid walk request to the server, if yes, you can do a kind of reverse engineering from receiving the packet to the walkcheck, if it do not send, you cant fly (also check at some Packet List and search something that activate flying, if it exists

as i said, starting from scratch (like i did for this example) is not easy